Copped Hall Logo

In 2015 the Copped Hall celebrated 20 years since the acquisition of Copped Hall. A fine Georgian mansion situated in the heart of Epping Forest, Copped Hall has a history dating back to the 13th century. The present mansion, built between 1752 and 1758 by the Architect John Sanderson for the owner John Conyers, was burned down in 1917 and asset stripped from 1950 onwards. Since the acquisition the Copped Hall Trust has been gradually restoring the mansion and grounds to their former splendour.

Restoration highlights from last year have included the addition of complete main roof structures, upgraded educational rooms, restoration to the Mansion forecourt in conjunction with the installation of more windows. As ever, there is still a lot to be done.


Today, the Trust hosts a variety of public events throughout the year including educational workshops, music, dancing and many more. During a visit to Copped Hall on an Open Day visitors can wander the gardens, explore the Mansion and enjoy a variety of stalls and entertainments for the whole family. This year, in May, we continued with our association with the National Trust event ‘Museums at Night’ hosting an Historical Craft Evening, all within the setting of Copped Hall at dusk and don’t forget to look out for our Carol Concerts on Saturday/Sunday 3rd and 4th December, and Saturday/Sunday 10th & 11th December.


The Mansion and grounds are open to the public only on specific days of the year, so please check our website for full details: